Perry County Indiana Sheriff's Office

Handgun Permits

How to Apply

To determine your eligibility, go online to firearms.ariesportal.com to begin the application process.

If you are renewing a license they will staple your old license to your application (pink copy). If you keep them stapled and carry both then you may continue carrying a handgun until you receive your new license or your license is rejected.

It can take several weeks to process your application.

Fingerprinting

The MorphoTrust fingerprinting site for the Perry County area is located at the Tell City Police Department. 

Address:

Tell City Police Department
707 Mozart St
Tell City, IN 47586

Phone: (812) 547-7068

Maintaining Your Permit

Take your new card and get it laminated. Notify the State of changes. If you change your name, address or are convicted of something that might change your eligibility you must notify the superintendent, in writing, within 30 days. You can (but are not required to) purchase a new license after an address change for a fee of $20.00.

It is your responsibility to know the local and state laws. 
Indiana Code on Regulation of Handguns (IC 35-47-2)

Carry responsibly.

Cost of the Application

Indiana collects two fees at the time of application. One goes to the State’s General Fund and the other goes to the local departments fund for firearms and firearm training.

Who do I pay my local/state fees to?

If you reside in the city limits, your local law enforcement agency would be the police department or town marshal of the city where you reside. If you reside out of the city limits, your local law enforcement agency would be the sheriff of your county. When paying your local fees bring a copy of your MorphoTrust fingerprinting receipt, your application number, and a photo ID with you.

Your state fees may be paid with a money order made payable to the State of Indiana or cash and then send in the mail to:

Indiana State Police – Firearms License
PO Box 3089
Indianapolis, Indiana 46206

Fees

*A portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued.

4 Year Hunting and Target
Local Fee – $10/$5 Refundable*
State Fee – $5

4 Year Personal Protection
Local Fee – $10/$5 Refundable*
State Fee – $30

Lifetime Hunting and Target
(No Current Lic)
Local Fee – $50/$30 Refundable*
State Fee – $25

Lifetime Hunting and Target (Current Valid License)
Local Fee – $40/$30 Refundable*
State Fee – $20

Lifetime Personal Protection
(No Current Lic)
Local Fee – $50/$30 Refundable*
State Fee – $75

Lifetime Personal Protection (Current Valid License)
Local Fee – $40/$30 Refundable*
State Fee – $60

Retired Law Enforcement Officer
Local Fee – Not Provided in Law
State Fee – Exempt

Corrections Officer
Local Fee – Not Provided in Law
State Fee -Exempt

Firearms Dealer
Local Fee – Not Provided in Law
State Fee – Exempt